Hooked by Zanne

Seven months ago I took a plunge and started a new hobby-business on Etsy.com. For those not familiar with Etsy, it is an online store made up of crafters and artistans selling their creations, designs, and finds. There is plethora of vendors selling everything from neon wall hangings to granny-square dish clothes and like any business, they all have one goal- be noticed and make sales.

For better or worse, I decided to throw my needle into the hay-stack and started Hooked by Zanne, a crocheting hobby-business. I have crocheted since I was a teenager and decided it was time to try to make a few extra dollars off a pass-time that I love. So I started to sell my creations: hats, purses, slippers, scarves, necklaces and accessories. Designing each pattern from scratch, no two pieces are the same and all are customizable to meet the needs and desires of the customer.

Like the rest, I wanted to get noticed and so the first step was to create the brand. Starting with the name and then the logo I created an image to go with my personality and vision for the business. The logo combines stylized and simple fonts along with subtle and striking colours to display a playful creativity weaved into a longstanding tradition. My goal was to show my funky side while still remaining professional and approachable. The  ball of yarn and hooked Z adds an identifiable image for viewers to recognize.

The second way to get noticed is to create an online presence. With a Facebook Page, Blog and Twitter account, I showcased my brand while highlighting my products and sales.

To be honest, the whole endeavor has been more for my own enjoyment than for the sake of profits but never-the-less I have loved every step of the way and the few bonus sales have made it that much more enjoyable.

Feel free to take a look at my work but be warned, you may get Hooked!

Leave a Reply

